Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

OU to erect Selmon brothers, Mayfield, Murray statues

The University of Oklahoma announced this week that it is seeking contracts to construct a statue of the Selmon brothers from Eufaula as well as statues of former Heisman Trophy winners Baker Mayfield and Kyler Murray.

The Selmon brothers were defensive linemen that would eventually become All-Americans during their playing careers. The three men combined for 905 tackles at OU. Lucious was National Defensive Player of the Year in 1973. Dewey, playing his older brother's nose guard position, was an All-American in 1974 and 1975. Lee Roy, at tackle alongside Dewey, won the Outland and Lombardi trophies.

Lee Roy is the only Oklahoma-born Sooner that is inducted into the National Football Hall of Fame.

“They are a special family and great ambassadors of the University of Oklahoma and Eufaula. They will forever link Norman to Eufaula and have a special place in my heart. Their entire family are truly wonderful,” Eufaula Hall of Fame coach Paul Bell said.

“There’s not been a family that has impacted Oklahoma University football or college football for that matter as significantly as the Selmons. I know this is something coach Switzer has worked on for some time and I’m thrilled it will finally come to pass,” former Eufaula and Sooner quarterback and congressman, J.C. Watts said.

The Selmon brothers’ statue is proposed to be the three of them together and is expected to be located north of Heisman Park with a due date of fall 2024.

The Heisman statues of Mayfield and Murray will be located next to the five statues of former Heisman winners Billy Vessels, Steve Owens, Billy Sims, Sam Bradford and Jason White. Mayfield and Murray’s statues will be constructed in spring 2020 and 2021.

The Selmon brothers, of course, are considered three of the best defensive linemen to ever don the Crimson and Cream, in Lee Roy’s case perhaps the best player in the history of the program. They helped guide the Sooners to the 1974 and 1975 National Titles, and all three later played in the National Football League. Their collective statue will be the first statue dedicated to a defensive player in the school’s history.

“ I think the statue is awesome and well deserved. They’re the only defensive players to be honored at OU. They were very talented athletes, but the most humble and compassionate individiuals I have known. They showed me by example how to be a the teammate I could be by showing up early to practice, work hard every day and that football is a team game,” former Eufaula and Oklahoma teammate Rusty Griffis said.

The 2017 Heisman winner, Mayfield threw for 4,267 yards and 43 touchdowns to only six interceptions while leading the Sooners to the College Football Playoff Semifinal. He also rushed for 311 yards and five scores on 97 carries, catching a touchdown pass as well in the CFP Semifinal at the Rose Bowl. A year ago, Murray accounted for a school-record 5,362 yards of total offense and 54 touchdowns. That school record is better than Mayfield’s the season before while capturing the 2017 Heisman. Until Murray did so last year, no player in FBS history had ever averaged at least 300 passing yards and 60 rushing yards per game for an entire season.

McIntosh County Democrat

300-A S. Broadway
Checotah, OK 74426
(918) 473-2313